name it

  
Currently reminding myself a few things: what Christ did on the cross is enough, I am new in Him, His love for me is furious, and because of Him I have seen a great light. By currently reminding myself, I mean praying through and clinging to this scripture:

“Through Him all things were made; without Him nothing was made that has been made. In Him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” John 1:3-5

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death.” Romans 1:1-2

“I keep my eyes always on the LORD. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” Psalm 16:8

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” 2 Corinthians 5:17

My friend just blogged boldly and named her fears and I told her I was proud of her. That is how we punch the the devil in the face. One thing I’ve learned this year is that darkness exists, but how light illuminates the darkness with the brightest of lights. My church just preached on this, how light and darkness are not equal but opposite forces– light is larger, bigger, and more powerful than darkness. 

Fear tells us we are the only one, we shouldn’t feel this way, we aren’t enough, that we are shamed. But bring it into the light and welcome God in, and the voice goes away. When we ground our hearts in Christ we remember and feel His furious and deep love for us. His love changes us, our hearts. 

So let’s not live our days feeling that darkness is overcoming the light. That is simply not true. Darkness is just the absence of light, so let’s look to the light. Let’s pray bold prayers to our Father about the state of our hearts, let’s name our fears, let’s live in the truth that Jesus overcome sin and death on the cross. So this season of Advent, we hope for and celebrate the birth of this gift, Jesus, Our Savior. Christmastime can be a tangible reminder of lights– so many magical lights everywhere. 

Fears can consume if we let them. Let’s name our fears and worries and anxieties. It is okay to admit when things feel icky, lonely, busy, rough. Because our world is going to feel that way. Yet also our world can feel like a thin place, where the Holy Spirit feels palpable, and our heart feels full, full, full. Because the most comforting thing in the world is that Jesus, our light, is bright. Let’s bring these dark thoughts into the light. So I’m naming mine.  To God and to my loved ones who listen and care. Praise Jesus that He rules the world with truth and grace. 

Leave a Reply

