psalm 62:5-8 (and running with the moon)



This morning I ran with the moon. And God painted the sky. And I felt like I woke up before the city did (except for the other runners/bikers also on the trail). I bounced out of bed at 5 am so I wouldn’t have to rush too much on my morning running routine of bus, gym, run, shower, re-heat my coffee, class. My run started out in the pitch-black and ended with a sunrise. 

This picture was taken from the same place as above, just an hour later: 



What a difference a little light can make. And the clouds over the city were light purple. 



My sunset run from Monday night:



God paints this city beautiful. So thankful for centering runs to be in awe of painted skies and waves and the moon and sun. 

Psalm 62:5-8

Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge

I’m not shaken in these centering sunrise morning runs. I am shaken by my to do list at school, and by the presence of all these worksheets and tests and pressures to study more, run more, hang out more, call more. I’m shaken and I feel it in my self-doubt. I tend to live that my honor depends on achievement, appearance, mileage, and what my friends/family/roommates/professors think of me. But those do not truly matter; what matters is what God thinks of me. He somehow thinks highly of me (as He does all His children). I need to remind myself of this truth and hope that it transforms how I think about myself. I hope it does. Because I currently feel worn and shaken. I’m telling my soul to find rest in God, clinging to this truth. I am thankful for the thin places like running by Lake Michigan and in honest prayer where I find God and peace and I start to believe this truth. Praying about this. 

Leave a Reply

