lamentations 3:24-28 (and brown grass and bare trees)



Today it was 57 degrees and sunny so I studied outside! The water was so pretty, but the grass was brown and the trees were bare. I thought to myself I can’t wait until spring to take pictures of green grass and leafy trees. 

But I can’t just wait for beauty and ease of spring. This parallels with Lent. I can’t fast forward through the hard work of Lent to get to Easter. This a time to prepare my heart. So right now, the grass is brown and trees are bare and sin is heavy and this is a time of sacrifice and pursuit, and I am taking pictures. I will take pictures of spring too, but I must find God’s beauty in both. He is in both, if I think about it– He has melted the ice and snow, and brought out sunshine for new growth and new life. He has and He is and He will keep it up. I have to look for Him everywhere to see. And I have to remind myself of His truth and presence

Lamentations 3:24-28: I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord. It is good for a man to bear the yoke while he is young. Let him sit alone in silence, for the Lord has laid it on him.

Since The Lord is my portion, I have hope in Him. And I see Him in more than just the beautiful. I see Him and find Him in the waiting, wishing, hoping. I love how simple Jeremiah wrote: the Lord is my all-in-all, so therefore (as in obviously, as in why wouldn’t i?) I will wait (draw near, cry out to to, seek) for Him. 

And that blue water is always beautiful. Grateful!



Leave a Reply

