hebrews 4:12 (and the brown line)

Today I wore Toms and drank a 99 cent (okay, $1.09 with tax) iced coffee and found myself back in the library drawing brains on white boards. Then I found myself in Lincoln Park digging through scripture and laughing and praying with thirteen wonderful, God-seeking woman about how scripture is God-breathed and the Living Word. Then I found myself evaluating one of them because she has low back pain. And now I’m home, cozy in bed, with a full and grateful heart. Grateful for sunshine, for Chicago, for the word, and for the love of God felt in so many different ways. Our small group’s new saying is God is working. Because He is. 

Scripture for tonight–

Hebrews 4:12

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

The word is alive with the Holy Spirit, which convicts our hearts and minds to turn towards Him. It helps us see where our heart is. Which is scary but oh-so-beautiful. We are made in God’s image and to be transformed by His spirit and power is the most comforting thing I can think of. His light shines through, peaks through, and illuminates any darkness. Just like the setting sun shining through buildings. God’s light and love reaches me, reaches Chicago, reaches my heart. Even in places such as the brown line. 



We are to rest (yes, rest) in Him. In who He is, not who we are. Him Him Him! Praises for that. 

Leave a Reply

