playa del carmen

7:20 am sunrises, morning runs, yellow lounge chairs, cappuccino and eggs for breakfast, chips and guacamole for lunch, walks down the beach, holding tucans, staying at the beach until 5:30 earliest. This was my week, my wonderful week, relaxing in Playa del Carmen, Mexico.

Our week was sunny and everything was orange and coral. Just like last year, I had a week off of classes for an annual physical therapy conference, and just like last year I spent the week in Mexico with my mom. My wonderful mom, who planned and organized this semi-impromptu trip, as she had about three weeks to plan.

From flip flops and crop tops to big sweaters and boots and scarves, back to Chicago.

IMG_5334

IMG_5350

IMG_5375

IMG_5373

IMG_5379

IMG_5331

IMG_5382

We had been to playa del Carmen 15 years ago with my brother too, so it was pretty cool to recognize the hotel when we visited and recognize 5th avenue. My mom doesn’t like going to the same place twice, but it was very cool to see where we found ourselves on our first international trip. I remembered so much from that place, as did my brother.

IMG_5342

IMG_5343

IMG_5349

IMG_5348

Such an amazing week. So thankful for ability and opportunity to go on vacation, especially in February, especially with my mom. And now I’m back. In Chicago. There was a huge snowstorm while I was gone, but now it’s semi melted so there’s piles of
brown snow everywhere (beautiful, really).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_5399

IMG_5392

My mom and I felt the presence of God in the sound of the waves and the slight breeze and the stars at night. Grateful.

Leave a Reply

