surprises and cherries and one words

My 3-weeks-without-Jess kit (toothpaste, lip gloss, fuzzy socks) was not lasting the length of Christmas break, so Jess planned a secret trip up to NoMI. We had talked about NYE in TC but she had me believe she would be in North Carolina, and configured a little surprise visit up north by talking with Katy and Lillian. I really wanted her to see the snow globe that TC is, and she brought the snow. (The day before she came up there was no snow). My favorite thing is looking out my blinds in the morning to see more snow than the night before, and that was almost every morning. Sitting and talking and watching gossip girl and praying and making to-do lists is our thing, and we did all of the above. We let ourselves sleep in, chose our one-words, watched the cherry drop at midnight, explored the snow, ate at Poppycocks, and wished to not leave. We watched two movies with my mom (one okay, one bad), and they forced me to watch football.

2015/01/img_4878.jpg

2015/01/img_4876.jpg

2015/01/img_4903.jpg

2015/01/img_4880.jpg

2015/01/img_4906.jpg

2015/01/img_4902.jpg

2015/01/img_4966.jpg

2015/01/img_4970.jpg

2015/01/img_4971.jpg

2015/01/img_5009.jpg

My wonderful mother drove us back to Chicago at the absolute last minute, Sunday after church, and the roads were so bad it took 7+ hours. We brought back Lillian’s sister’s dog and my new comfortable grey chair that’s going to my prayer/studying chair. My mom picked it out for me for Christmas, and I love it so much. I love thoughtful gifts where the person knows you so well, which is exactly what this was. It makes my room look less big/more filled, and I’ve already sat in it to pray, study, and accidentally fall asleep.

2015/01/img_50121.jpg

Thankful for my three weeks in TC with my mom and cousins and friends, and thankful that Jess came up to the snow globe.

our one-words

bold (mine)
Ephesians 6:18-19 “Pray for me, that I may fearlessly proclaim the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador for. Pray that I may proclaim it clearly, as I should”

trust (jess)
Romans 15:13 “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit”

comfort (mom’s)
Psalm 119:76 “May your unfailing love be my comfort, according to your promise to your servant”

Praying for these one-words to turn our hearts to God and away from the stresses of the day, to keep us in step with the spirit.

Leave a Reply

