grace > _________

I have been watching a sermon series on grace by Kyle Idleman (pastor in Louisville, KY; watch his sermons here). Grace has been such a theme for me this trimester, and it connects so well with the idea of balance, radically resting, being brave, and unconditional love. Because I have to give myself the grace to make mistakes, and love others so well, even when they make mistakes or say something that hurts me. I also need grace to say no, even if I think I will let others down, but also grace to inconvenience my selfish self and say yes. If my identity is rooted in God, then it shouldn’t matter if I mess up on an assignment, miss out on an event, or lose sleep or study time to do something with/for a friend. I need this grace to flow everywhere in my life, to be above my circumstances, my hurt, my weaknesses, just as Kyle has challenged in his sermons. In his final sermon, it was about grace being greater than circumstances, and he got emotional at the end. Because he felt the Holy Spirit, he felt the hearts softening, the chains breaking. Grace, grace, grace, is greater. I believe this, I so do, but I don’t live this out. I’m hard on myself, hard on others, easily hurt, and my mood is associated with circumstances.

The truth is that grace is greater. Praises for this truth. Comfort in this truth. Praying to keep this truth on my mind, to believe it so much that it keeps me abiding in His grace and peace. My small group has been going through Colossians, and there is so much wisdom on God’s promises and grace in this book.

In the same way, the gospel is bearing fruit and growing thorughout the world– just as it has been doing among you since the day you understood God’s grace. Colossians 1:6

For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of His will through all the wisdom and understanding that the spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of The Lord and please Him in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to His glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, giving joyful thanks to the Father who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of His holy people in the kingdom of light. Colossians 1: 9-12

We loved how it says we are qualified, because of Him. We should be reading that as many times as it takes to believe those words and what they mean. They mean that we are called and loved by God to do life with Him and in communion with others, glorifying Him. He brought us into His kingdom. And we are loved, so loved. So nothing else should effect us.

Praying.

Leave a Reply

