share three things

Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful. And pray for us, too, that God may open a door for our message, so that we may proclaim the mystery of Christ, for which I am in chains. Pray that I may proclaim it clearly, as I should. Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.
Colossians 4:2-6

This is a verse Kali picked that we loved. She wrote it on paper for me to carry with me. We love how it shows that God opens doors, and that we need to be salt of the earth preserving His kingdom, breathing love and grace to others. Paul tells us clearly to devote ourselves to prayer and being still. Love love love. We are called to pray for each other and do life together as we walk with others. To be seasoned with salt means to help preserve, to keep something in good taste and flavor. So to love out this salty conversation, I think it means to speak truth and encouragement to each other, to point out the work of God in others lives, and acknowledge His presence in our conversations.

Last week my dear cousin texted me and asked me to share three things on my mind right now. Share three things. Not three perfect things, but three any-things, three honest things. It’s less about saying life is grand, but recognizing the hard things in life that are a little stressy and undone. I had to think, and then I shared:

1. I’m overwhelmed by the amount of papers and studying I have in the next 4 weeks
2. Really appreciating friends to pray with and read scripture with
3. I’m being a ninja turtle for Halloween.

And just like that, connection. I did the same thing the next morning with Jackie; I texted (Kakoed) her to share three things too. And it connected us, to know what is currently taking up her brain space, providing opportunity to say things instead of just saying how’s it going. Connecting across the time change and ocean and land. Connecting together is what unifies us, what helps us lift our eyes and hearts to God.

1. Thankful for worship music through headphones, it’s like a secret sanctuary
2. New off-white infinity scarf is so cozy
3. Case study due tomorrow and I forgot the fact to consider he had a slight heart attack so I gotta add that in. eek!

Sharing three things connects us because of the one thing I share with these people– the love of God. We have freedom and unity in community together. It is such a gift to be able to maintain connection through doing life together, even if it’s only through prayers and words instead of living in the same house or town. And that’s the beauty of it. We’re meant to share all things, live in community and prayer, and do life together, united by our faith and helping each other through everything else. What a beautiful thing.

Thankful thankful thankful.

Leave a Reply

