making things new

IMG_2866.JPG
My mom is painting our house a new color. Something different for a change. New new new. New sounds fresh, strong, shiny, different. Old sounds boring, blah, and so in the past. The painters came to prep our house for it’s new color and noticed some rotting. Apparantly our white pillars of 20 years have some weak and damaged areas, and they need to be replaced with new, sturdy wood before they can be re-painted. I’m realizing that I am the same way, with areas that may be a little damaged and hurt, with a need for repair and replacement. To be repaired, these areas need to be exposed, eliminated, and replaced with new thoughts, prayers, lifestyle. In other words, they need to be brought to the light, into the open, and in a position to receive Christ’s truth, grace, and sanctification. So earlier this week I prayed for any areas in my life that need to be addressed or acknowledged, and then these areas were slowly brought to the surface, all in the same time frame of our pillars being fixed. Physical and spiritual imagery. Areas of past decisions, past hurt, past thoughts, all brought to the surface, reminding me. The fact that it stung so badly made me realize I needed to address them. So I read 2 Corinthians 5:17-19,

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come. The old has gone, the new is here! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God. God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”

And then that was the message at church on Sunday, about God’s truth and grace, and how we are new in Him, full of truth and full of grace. That is the beauty of it, that Jesus knows all and still loves us. He challenged us to remember this and let it guide how we love others, if we tend to be more truthful or full of grace, but rather allow both, as Jesus does. We are new in Him, because of Him. And this newness is stronger, sturdier, shinier.

My new journal has a connecting theme for this current season of my life, a theme of creating space, making room, for God and dependence and newness and stillness and peacefulness.

IMG_2857.JPG

I love this theme, this idea, this lifestyle. I need to create space and room for more God, more of His Spirit, more peace, more grace. But to do that, to fill up the God-shaped hole and more, I also need to clear out selfishness, comparison, impatience, and regret.

Praying through this, as I think of our new pillars and new paint color. (I left before the final product was finished, but here is a sneak peek). I love that my mom picked this color. I told her dark green/teal can be considered a color of re-birth. She got be an ottoman the same color and I secretly like that it’s the same color as our house.

The old tan color, ignore the teal circle:

IMG_0775.JPG

The new dark green/teal: (love it!)

IMG_0774.JPG

Leave a Reply

