my last few weeks

Image

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

It’s Friday night and I am in bed at 9:45. Today was my last class of our winter trimester. I just got back from studying cubbie-by-cubbie with Jen and Melissa until the library closed at 9. It’s socially acceptable because its pt school AND  finals week. So thankful for the people in the class that have become my close friends, ones I can hug and laugh with and cry to and study with. Such a blessing, how in the midst of class and lab and stress we have formed friendships. We had our last (!) anatomy lab dissection on Tuesday and my lab group went out after for margaritas and guac. So needed and refreshing and delicious. We took this picture doing our dance moves to remember the actions of the laryngeal muscles. We have fun.

Image

Image

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Two weekends ago Krissy was in the city for her spring break, so naturally, she did what she always does when she finds herself in the same state, or country, as me– she showed up. She always shows up. When I was in Honduras for a week during her internship in Belize, she took a plane and a bus to visit with me for a night. When she was in Michigan for a weekend while living in DC, she drove the morning of my graduation to say hello and I love you and how are you as I got ready. I am so grateful for her intentionality. This time she met me downtown Chicago, right outside my library, and we walked arm in arm to got coffee, iced for her, hot for me. We talked and laughed and filled each other in. Even though we don’t talk weekly, we still have stayed in touch as we tackle grad school and new, separate cities. I love remembering the days when we were mama/baby in our sorority, where it felt like we skipped everywhere we went. Freshman year I would run across the parking lot and knock on her dorm room window, and then sophomore year I would run across the street and run up to her window room. Love her.

Image

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Last weekend I took the metra to meet Danielle in the suburbs and she greeted me with Starbucks and hugs and we talked non-stop the ride up to Grand Rapids to stay with Emily for her wedding shower weekend. Emily’s shower was beautiful and special and sweet all in one. Everything she opened were gifts to share with Austin in their future life together, and she accidently un-tied about five ribbons in the process. We drank coffee and had cupcakes and celebrated Emily.

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

unnamed

 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This week was a little bit of everything. Monday it was so warm and sunny that I ran in shorts and a sports bra (and wore ballet flats to class), and Wednesday I was back in tights and a long-sleeve, shivering as I ran along the lakeshore. Thursday night bible study with Liz was wonderful, we found ourselves laying on her little twin bed by the window that looks out at the city and we talked about our weeks– God moments, weaknesses, joys, worries. We prayed through Romans 14 about being encouraging and not judgmental; not comparing, not competing, but just living and resting in God’s grace and love. I compete and find myself comparing and discontent. Working on and continuing to pray through that.

Image

 

I took this picture because I was having one of my I-can’t-believe-I-live-here moments. Something about the blue sky and the little star and the warmer weather and that this was on my walk home from church.

.Image

God moments of my week– encouragement from everyone, praying for friends, seeing God’s work all over. He is comfort and peace and strength. He is. Ending this post with my focus tight now, and undivided heart that relies on His faithfulness. Psalm 86.

Image

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

